Join Bridge Winners
How would you rule?

West
AQ5
J32
8653
763
North
3
AK9764
KJ9
KJ2
East
J10762
10
AQ
AQ1098
South
K984
Q85
10742
54
W
N
E
S
1
1
2
2
4
4
P
P
P
D
4 East
NS: 0 EW: 0

The lead was the 5 to the North's K. North continued with the 4 ruffed by East after which declarer played to Q, to 10 and then J from hand which South covered, won in dummy with A, another hook (North inserting K), cashed 10 (South false-carding with 9) and then East faced his hand saying "I'll give you a diamond" and loosely detached the Q from his hand; not so much indicating that he was going to play it, but to show to the defense that he had a losing .

South pointed out that he held the master trump and called the TD.

The position at the point of the claim (with North-South having taken one trick thus far) was:

West
J
8653
7
North
A9
KJ9
J
East
7
AQ
Q98
South
8
Q
10742
D

East admitted that he was unaware of the outstanding trump (it seems he thought North followed on 2nd round of trumps) and there was a general consensus that the Q wasn't a played card and the "normal" progression of play would be for East to run his good suit.

The hand arose at the leading table in round six of an eight round swiss pairs event with cross-IMP scoring.  East is an expert player.

How would you rule?

 

4 making
4 down one
4 down two
4 down three
Other

Sorry, to answer polls. Registered users can vote in polls, and can also browse other users' public votes! and participate in the discussion.

Getting results...
loading...
61 Comments
Getting Comments... loading...
.

Bottom Home Top