Join Bridge Winners
Evaluate this ruling by the director

How would you evaluate this director ruling?

West
KQJ8
109854
63
95
North
1074
AQ2
K4
AQ742
East
A6
J763
Q82
J863
South
9532
K
AJ10975
K10
W
N
E
S
 
1
P
1
P
1N
P
2
P
2
P
2N
P
3N
P
P
P
D
3NT North
NS: 0 EW: 0

The subject board was the first of a regular club pairs game, scored at matchpoints.  To the extent this information is relevant, the NS pair have played together before but might not be a regular partnership.  The NS pair’s masterpoint holdings are, I would guess, approximately 2500 for North, and 1500 for South.

The NS pair is playing 15-17 1NT opening; thus, I cannot explain why the North hand chose to open 1 and rebid 1NT. 

The director was called by me after the 2 call (yes, I know I should call after the 2 call) and again after the hand was completed.  On a club lead, declarer scored +520.

The director let the score stand, explaining to me that because South’s hesitation could possibly have been either on a hand that was considering passing 1NT or on a hand that was considering bidding 3 or some higher call than 2, Pass by North – the call I thought would be foisted on North -- was not demonstrably indicated by the hesitation.

 

 

26 Comments
Getting Comments... loading...
.

Bottom Home Top