Join Bridge Winners
Ethics, gamesmanship and the law

North
AJ
Kxx
AQJxx
AQx
South
Kxx
A10xxx
K9
KJx
W
N
E
S
1NT
P
2NT
P
3
P
3
P
3
P
4
P
4
P
4
P
5
P
5
P
5
P
?

Regional KO. 1N 14-16, 2N 5M ask, 3D 5H's, 3H set trump, slam try, 3S control, 4C serious control, 4D control (not LT in 4th suit), 4S kcb, 1 and without Q. At which point responder bid 6N. As declarer I won the opening diamond lead with the D9, finessed the SJ at trick 2, and when it lost, I showed my hand and claimed 6.

The play took less then a minute. Everyone put their cards in the slot. As we were going on to the next board I asked out of curiosity, "Were hearts 3-2?" An opponent muttered, "Yes, ... or not."

I assumed this was a push. After the match was over and we had picked up a big swing on this board, we learned hearts had gone 5-0.

For sake of clarity, assume the opponent had clearly said, "Yes, 3-2." What do you think?

 

 

 

It is ethical and legal as "gamesmanship". If you want to see the hearts, don't claim so quickly.
It is unethical but not illegal.
It is illegal as a violation of the sportsmanship rule. The director can award a procedural penalty.
It is cheating and harsh disciplinary sanctions are warranted.
Other.

Sorry, to answer polls. Registered users can vote in polls, and can also browse other users' public votes! and participate in the discussion.

Getting results...
loading...
164 Comments
Getting Comments... loading...
.

Bottom Home Top