Join Bridge Winners
Correcting a correct but mistaken explanation

Playing a Strong Club system in a club Swiss Pairs session, I had a hand the other day where partner opened 1 and RHO bid 1. Our agreement after a 1 overcall is that I pass with 0-4 points and double with 5-7 points and systems on otherwise. However, after any other overcall, I bid with 5-8 points, although I can pass and await developments, and double with more. Whether those calls should be reversed is up for debate.

I held 6 points and a five-card Hearts suit and forgot the system and bid 1, which partner, also forgetting the system, explained as 5-8 points and a 5+card Hearts suit. We bought the contract in 3NT and I corrected my partner's explanation of the 1 bid to say that, by our agreements, it showed 8-10 points and an unknown 5+card suit, even though his explanation was an accurate description of the hand I held.

Was this correct of me? Partner was dubious about it.

Yes
No

Sorry, to answer polls. Registered users can vote in polls, and can also browse other users' public votes! and participate in the discussion.

Getting results...
loading...
53 Comments
Getting Comments... loading...
.

Bottom Home Top