Join Bridge Winners
Club Ruling

West
J64
AKJ73
102
953
North
AQ5
873
KQ108742
East
32
Q86
AKQJ95
AJ
South
K10987
109542
64
6
W
N
E
S
1
1NT
2
2
P
3NT
P
P
P
D
3NT East
NS: 0 EW: 0

South intended 2 as Michaels, showing both majors.  Nortth-South are not regular partners and had not discussed bids after 1NT overcalls.

South led a heart against 3NT.  East started with 12 tricks and ended with 13, but 490 would have earned a top score.

South called the director and said that he would have led a spade, if not for the Transfer announcement.  The director changed the score to 3NT down 1, now a tie for top for North-South.  East-West had left the game when the ruling was made - the director waited to consult an experienced player.  On hearing the result,   East and West noted that they would not have bid 3NT if the 2 call had been alerted.

East and West would not play 2H as a transfer after an opening 1NT and 2 overcall.

 

What say you?

Table result stands: EW + 520
3NT down 1
Other - please explain

Sorry, to answer polls. Registered users can vote in polls, and can also browse other users' public votes! and participate in the discussion.

Getting results...
loading...
63 Comments
Getting Comments... loading...
.

Bottom Home Top