Join Bridge Winners
Claim Ruling

Playing in the top flight (A/X) of a regional swiss teams, the following hand happens (hand rotated to make declarer South):

 

West
xxx
Kxxx
xx
J962
North
Qxx
AQ10x
Qxx
KQ8
East
9
xxx
J9xx
A10743
South
AK10xxx
J3
AK10x
5
W
N
E
S
P
1NT
P
4
P
4
P
6
P
P
P
D
6 South
NS: 0 EW: 0
6
K
A
5
2
0
1
4
3
9
Q
1
1
1
2

The first two tricks (replicated above - click the "Next" button) are:

  • Club to the King and Ace
  • Club return to the Queen, declarer pitching a low heart

Declarer now draws one round of trumps, then claims saying "drawing trumps".  Here is what happened (my perspective from the East hand):

  • I asked declarer "how are you getting rid of your last diamond".
  • Declarer showed me his hand in a way that I could only see the AKT of diamonds.  I said "ok, you only have 3 diamonds" and accepted the claim at the table.
  • This was the last hand of the round and in fact the last hand of the day.  After the round, my partner went to look at declarer's hand again, realized he had 4 diamonds, and called the director. 
  • The director asked to look at all four hands and the play up to the claim.  The ruling (paraphrased) was:  After declarer realizes the bad diamond break, he has no choice but to play for the heart finesse, which is on.  So the claim stands.

Should we have disputed the ruling?  For one, there is an alternative line:  After declarer realizes that East has the last diamond, he can run his trumps.  If East has the HK, he is squeezed and at the end declarer has a classic finesse-or-drop position in the heart suit.  Although the finesse tends to be percentage, this is a clear viable alternative.

130 Comments
Getting Comments... loading...
.

Bottom Home Top