Join Bridge Winners
Can I (and Should I) alert my opponent on the other side of the screen that there has been missinformation?

West
AKQ54
9
9765
932
North
J10987
KJ4
AQ104
Q
East
32
AQ10765
KJ
1085
South
6
832
832
AKJ764
W
N
E
S
1
2
2NT
P
3NT
P
P
P
D
3NT South
NS: 0 EW: 0

 

After A lead and sight of dummy I was quite certain my partner has taken 2NT as natural, so the question is if I could and/or should tell my LHO on the other side of the screen what has happened to avoid further damage.

 

The defence was: A, 9-J-Q-2, to Q, then K and a diamond let me score 2 + 1 + 6,

Some of the damage in the defence self inflicted, but arguably some of it comes from the missinformation. Concretely opponents claimed that with correct information AKQ + heart through for 1 down would be a normal defence, although 2 or even 3 down is not unthinkable if the play a club early and I squeeze dummy before missguessing diamonds.

 

When north was inquired about 2NT it was obvious she was not certain of the meaning, I think according to the rules this is as if she stated it without a doubt, but I am not sure.

 

I am mostly interested on knowing if I can alert the other side of the screen of likely missinformation, but as a bonus quesiton, how would you rule?

 

 

EDIT: Sorry I am a moron, I rotated the hand to put me in south, South and East are screenmates on this diagram.

13 Comments
Getting Comments... loading...
.

Bottom Home Top