Join Bridge Winners
Blind lineup ethics question

Today in the USBF Open Championships, my teammate overheard that another team had drawn us. This matters because lineups are supposed to be filed before we know who we've drawn. This rule makes setting lineups easier, in a way, because teams don't have to spend time optimizing and scouting because they have little idea who they will draw.

Is the information that my teammate overheard authorized?

 

Bonus question: is the apparent lineup that they filed, supposing we observed how they were sitting before filing our lineup, also authorized?

It's authorized.
It's unauthorized.
It depends.

Sorry, to answer polls. Registered users can vote in polls, and can also browse other users' public votes! and participate in the discussion.

Getting results...
loading...
43 Comments
Getting Comments... loading...
.

Bottom Home Top