Join Bridge Winners
Another claim problem

West
QJ3
K762
9872
105
North
542
A
Q64
QJ9643
East
A1096
109843
J5
87
South
K87
QJ5
AK103
AK2
W
N
E
S
2NT
P
3
P
4
P
6NT
P
P
P
D
6NT South
NS: 0 EW: 0

 

3S = minor suit slam try

Partner led the SQ and I won with the ace.  Declarer now claims stating: I will take 7 club tricks, 3 diamonds, 1 heart and 1 spade.

Director is called.  Obviously, declarer can score 4 diamond tricks for the contract.  The ruling was that declarer was allowed to fallback on the diamond play later in the hand.  6NT was allowed to make.  I disagree since declarer could certainly have discarded a diamond on a club since that 4th diamond seemed irrelevant to him.  It would be careless but not illogical.  

6NT making
6NT down one

Sorry, to answer polls. Registered users can vote in polls, and can also browse other users' public votes! and participate in the discussion.

Getting results...
loading...
28 Comments
Getting Comments... loading...
.

Bottom Home Top