Join Bridge Winners
Another Appeal Probable in Spingold

On board 2 of the first session:

West
1094
7654
1052
1073
North
A6
J982
Q97
AJ52
East
J5
AQ103
J643
Q64
South
KQ8732
K
AK8
K98
W
N
E
S
 
P
1
P
2
P
2
P
2N
P
3
P
4
P
4N
P
5
X
6
P
6
P
P
P
D
2
6 South
NS: 0 EW: 0

On the NE side of the screen, North (for the Monaco team) wrote a note that looked something like:

5+, 11+ H, 6 ... 6S = 3H - the note is all on one piece of paper, but may not all have been written at the same time.

The North player intended that to mean that the 3 bid had shown 6 spades. The East player thought it meant that South had shown 6 spades and 3 hearts. 

The 5 was led (3rd and 5th best leads), dummy played low, and East played the 10. Declarer won the King and soon claimed all the tricks. East summoned the director and said that he had been told that South had 3 hearts, which was the reason he played the 10.

The director has ruled that the result stands, based on the fact that 8 players were shown the note and many of them understood it and the others said they would ask more questions to find out what it meant. We expect that the appeal will be heard at the dinner break.

The committee met over the dinner break and upheld the director's ruling. So the score as posted is correct.

 

 

67 Comments
Getting Comments... loading...
.

Bottom Home Top