Join Bridge Winners
Agreements at the Slam Level (2)

IMPs

North
A10
Q108
J432
AK32
South
KQ2
AKQ9
QJ10987
W
N
E
S
1
P
2
P
2NT
P
3
P
3
P
6
P
?

I would rebid three clubs with the North hand, but this particular partner thought that that would show extras (as in 1M—2m//3m). (Actually, he does have extras.) (After three clubs, South has an easy ride to grand via voidwood. Anyhow, glad he did what he did—gave me a chance to think about these matters.)

(1) As South, I had a problem over three spades: asking for keycards in clubs. So I jumped to six clubs thinking that North would bid seven if he had what I needed. Is that really the case? Because from North's point of view, maybe I simply decided that, given that North's limiting two-notrump rebid, six level is just where we belong.

(2) If North is not allowed bid seven, how should South have continued?

(3) Irrespective of all these, does your partnership have rules/guides on slam-level bidding after a (perhaps unexpected) jump? When should it mean (also see the previous post please):

(3a) “Partner, just pass.”

(3b) “Partner, just pass or correct.”

(3c) “Partner, you are allowed to bid seven.”

14 Comments
Getting Comments... loading...
.

Bottom Home Top