Join Bridge Winners
ACBL Rules Query "Is it just bridge?"

Simple hand, simple auction. (Example)

You hold:

AJx xx KQ109xx Ax

You would open this 1NT 15-17 (despite 6322 not being 'balanced').

Is it illegal to have the following agreement?

1NT - 2T (a red-suit transfer)

3m = natural (saying I'd rather play in my minor than be dropped in 2-of-your-major).

My friend explained to me that this agreement is illegal, because now you have a way to "find out" about opening 1NT with a 6-card minor.

This goes against my bridge sensibilities, but is he right?

Is this (highly natural, possibly even good) treatment illegal, given that you would open 1NT hands with 1NT?

Getting Comments... loading...

Bottom Home Top