Join Bridge Winners
About Frivolous 3N

Partner and I play frivolous 3N in all auctions where it is clear we are to play in the agreed Major.  This looks for insight as to when 3N is Frivolous, and when it is to play (Can it ever be?).  The following auction is one example I got wrong in last weekend's sectional.

W
N
E
S
1
P
1
P
2
P
2
P
2
P
2
P
3
P
3NT
P
?

I found the 3N rebid ambiguous as 2 could be temporizing with 5.  Partner argued that rebidding 3N if natural shows a stop so he must have 6 cards.  

So what's best here?  Should we always apply 3N Frivolous in all possible 8-card fit situations?  Should we do so only if the number of trumps is unambiguously 8 or more?  Should we wait for 9+ fits?  How do you judge this?

3N should always be frivolous even when one partner raised with 2 cards, if 8 trumps combined is at all possible
3N should be frivolous only when the trump fit is 4-4 or 5-3 or better
3N should be frivolous only if we have a 9+ card trump fit
3N should be frivolous only when 3N is not a possible contract
3N should never be frivolous after a 2-card or 1-card raise.
Other
I don't play frivolous 3N.

Sorry, to answer polls. Registered users can vote in polls, and can also browse other users' public votes! and participate in the discussion.

Getting results...
loading...
35 Comments
Getting Comments... loading...
.

Bottom Home Top