Join Bridge Winners
A Piece of Transfer Walsh in a GCC Event

When I had the pleasure of playing the Mixed Pair Finals with my favorite parner in St. Louis, quite a few of our opponents were playing a transfer-Walsh variant.  While our meta-agreements left us well positioned, I regretted having so few opportunities to play against transfer-Walsh in ACBL sanctioned events.  It is always good to be familiar with the available positive and negative inferences.

BBO offers the opportunity to play transfer-Walsh or play against transfer-Walsh at my convenience.  I can also play transfer-Walsh in A/X and Bracket-1 KOs when schedules permit.  Sadly, schedules aren't always cooperative and some of my favorite partners prefer club games.  This got me thinking about whether I could practice a transfer-Walsh variant in a GCC event.  

Here is one approach to consider for those trying to "work around" the ACBL's GCC restrictions.

If your opponent's double your 1 opener, you are free to play transfers.  

If the opponents pass your 1 opener, you can play the following:

1 = ART  F1  4+

1 = 4+

1 = ART GF

Note:  You could play 1 as showing 4+ and 1 as ART GF if you prefer.  

1 is allowed as ART and Forcing under Responses and Rebids rule 1.  Artificial game forcing bids are allowed under rule 3.  

While it might be nice to use 1 to show a limited balanced hand and/or various other hands, Welland and Aukens have shown that international events can be won playing 1 as an artificial game force after a 1 opening (semi-balanced or ).  Without the takeout double, you cannot play transfers to both majors. So the "piece" of Transfer Walsh that is available in a GCC event is a transfer to 1 major.  

After 1-1(transfer), you can play 1NT as a 17-19 hcp balanced hand if that is your preferred treatment.  A jump to 2NT can be used to show a hand with good, long s with support for the major or the treatment of your choice.  Of course, you would use more standard treatments over a natural 1M response because partner no longer has the option of "completing the transfer" to show a "zero" notrump hand, show 3 card support, or another treatment you may prefer.

I wish the GCC did not restrict transfers (or assumed fit 2 suited preempts, but I digress...).  I apologize to members of the BridgeWinners community that do not play in ACBL events who might be wondering why discuss this convoluted approach.  However, I know ACBL members who play mostly in club game and sectionals and are looking to gain experience with transfer-Walsh.  I wanted to share a partial approach they can use.  The experience gained from playing a "piece" of a system is not as valuable as playing or playing against a full-blown system.  However, it will give you a bit of the flavor of the transfers and the contiunations.  It may help you select a better defense against transfer-Walsh partnerships  ( or may lead you to play a full version of the system.  More importantly, it may be a lot of fun to experiment with a piece of a new system playing with friends at your local club.

Getting Comments... loading...

Bottom Home Top